metaMe Health Named Finalist in 2018 Innovation Challenge

Lyfebulb and UnitedHealth Group Announce 11 Finalists for Their 2018 Innovation Challenge for Patient Entrepreneurs

MINNETONKA, Minn. and NEW YORK, June 28, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Lyfebulb LLC and UnitedHealth Group (NYSE:UNH) have selected 11 Patient Entrepreneur finalists who will compete in the “Empowering Patients: An Innovation Challenge” to earn the Lyfebulb and UnitedHealth Group Innovation Award.

After a thorough screening and review of the dozens of applications submitted, Lyfebulb and UnitedHealth Group are pleased to announce the final contenders: Steve Axelrod of G-Tech Medical; Daniel Bernstein of metaMe Health; Cindy Frei of Caleb’s Cooking Company; Phyllis “PJ” Johnson of; Vik Kashyap of Toi Labs; Jon Margalit of Complete Start; Kishore Pardasani of Buddha Technologies (OstoBuddy); Marc Ramer of Regentys; Scott Sundvor of Nima Labs; Brett Tripp of Tripp Design; and Daniel Weinstein of Oshi Health.

The Innovation Challenge was announced April 23 and was open to established companies of all sizes whose founders have been affected by inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), whether as a patient or through a loved one, and who have created a product or service to address an issue encountered by IBD patients. The 11 finalists will attend the Challenge in Minnetonka July 24-25 at UnitedHealth Group’s headquarters. At the event, the judges will award three Patient Entrepreneurs with the most innovative and impactful solutions with prizes of $25,000, $15,000, and $10,000 for first, second and third place, respectively.

Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) covers a group of disorders in which the intestines become inflamed, probably as a result of an immune reaction of the body against its own intestinal tissue. The disease category covers Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. About 3 million adults nationwide reported being diagnosed with IBD as of 2015 compared with 2 million adults in 1999.

Shawn Thurlow